Unpretentious assessments of circadian circumstances.

Look! No hands!


Remember when riding your bike sans hands was the ultimate declaration of control, balance and determination? No? Maybe it was just me. I remember my bicycle, laden with sparkly pink tassles billowing from the handlebars and bright white tires. The neighborhood cul-de-sac was my hamster wheel. If only I could master the suitable speed, the accurate angle and the required rhythm; I could let go of the bars. I eventually conquered that cul-de-sac. Although, ever since, I feel like I’ve been trying to conquer the cul-de-sac in every neighborhood my life has brought me to, however brief the stay. At times I’ve had great success. At times my gears got stuck, my tires went flat or my seat needed to be readjusted. I’m still on the same bike, we all are. It’s not the same pink one I had as a child, or the same neighborhood I grew to know like the back of my hand, but in some shape or form, that bike becomes your life. How you maneuver it, maintain it and manage it determines everything. At times I’ve tried to let go of the handlebars when I thought I was ready, only to find out that I needed more time. At times when going down hill I’ve forgotten how to apply the brakes. At times a slight moment of indecisiveness caused an accident. The truth is, I’m still learning how to ride that thing and I don’t think we ever stop learning; and yes, training wheels aren’t so bad after all.

One response

  1. Sara

    I’ve read this about 10 times already, and each time I get something new out of it. It’s beautifully written. At times I’ve felt like I’ve abandoned the bike all together, because I’ve lost that need to be in control, balanced, and determined. It takes a substantial amount of resolve and courage to get back up after you’ve fallen, knowing you might fall again, and ride. What matters most I guess is that you keep riding no matter what; ignoring the bruises you get, the bumps that knock you out of the way, and the old lady sitting by her porch down the street telling you to get the hell off of her sidewalk.

    April 23, 2012 at 4:11 am

Have something to say? Judgement free zone here.

